Monday, January 23, 2012

Piaget Cognitive Development

Sensorimotor: 0-2 - learning is through feeling and movement. -Obtain Object Permanence.

Preoperational: 2-7- Achieve Irreversibility ie. death is final. Children learn symbols and can use them to communicate.

       2 sub stages: Preconceptual- 2-4 yrs
      Intuitive: 4-7
-children are still egocentric until 6.

Concrete Operational: 7-11 yrs old. understand symbols.
-Achieve Conservation.

Formal Operational: abstract thinking -only half of adults achieve this. Can solve problems in head no just on finger or paper. Develop inner value system and moral judgement.

No comments:

Post a Comment